Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Gr 6 Insect Research: Asian Insects

Database Articles

Britannica School Online

You should start with the search filter MIDDLE but can move to HIGH with further searches. You might need to search your insect family, common name, or Latin name if you have an unusual insect. 

Hot tips! Click on words to use the dictionary. Expand the images and video. Use voice to text to help reading comprehension Visit related articles. 

 

Everything Insects

e-book on National Geographic Kids database

Hot tips! Use the search tool on the right hand side to search inside the bookClick on the drop down menus on the right hand side to use the Table of Contents. Click the half white/half black box at the top of the book to make it easier to read. 

 

First Book of Bugs

e-book on the National Geographic Kids database

Hop tips! Start with this great introductory book. Use the search tool on the right hand side to search inside the bookClick on the drop down menus on the right hand side to use the Table of Contents. Click the half white/half black box at the top of the book to make it easier to read. 

 

Ultimate Bugopedia: The Most Complete Bug Reference Ever
 

Hop tips! Start with this great introductory book. Use the search tool on the right hand side to search inside the bookClick on the drop down menus on the right hand side to use the Table of Contents. Click the half white/half black box at the top of the book to make it easier to read. 

National Geographic Kids online database

Do a general search on your insect of interest.

 

National Geographic

Use when you are further along in your research. Find articles, e-books, and images. Make your searches more specific by using the tools on the left hand side. Cite using the short cuts at the bottom of the page.

 

Science Online

Search with insect in this more complicated database. Search your specific species or the family/genus. 

 

World Book Catalogue

Find an article about the insect you're researching or its family. Use the filters on the left hand side!

Books

See e-books listed under the Databases, or look on National Geographic Kids database.  (at home? password: crofton)

Websites

The Smithsonian is a huge museum in Washington, D.C. This is a digital list of their insect resources. 

Bugfacts is a reliable resource that has detailed information about tons of insects. Don't forget to put your citation into Noodletools!

Beaty Biodiversity Museum, at the University of British Columbia, has a great photographic database of the Spencer Entomological Collection. Enjoy!

Entomological Society of America will help you find the taxonomic information for your insect.

Use the Encyclopedia of Life when you have a good understanding of your topic. It can be a bit confusing!

Insect Identification (a reliable organization) will be a good place to start your insect research.

African Insects is a web site from BBC with information specifically on insects from Africa.

South American Insects is a web site from BBC with information specifically on insects from South America.

Latin American Insects is a web site focused on insects in South America.

Asian Insects is a web site from BBC with information specifically on insects from Asia.

Wildlife Arkive is a general site with information about insects.

San Diego Zoo Insects for Kids site is a general tool with good information about insects.

Antark is a great resource for anyone studying ants.