Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ENGLISH PLUS: Chinatown

OTHER RESOURCES

Chinatown National Designation Application
Information about the history of Vancouver's Chinatown and heritage buildings.

MAPS

Chinatown Map - Vancouver Heritage Foundation
Map of Chinatown which includes information about the buildings in this district.

Chinatown Walking Tour & Map - City of Vancouver
Directions and information about Chinatown and the buildings.

VIDEOS:

BOOKS

WEBSITES

GENERAL HISTORY:

Bamboo Shoots: Chinese Canadian Legacies in BC - BC Government
This site includes teacher and student resources about the legacies of Chinese Canadians in BC.

Canadian Encyclopedia - Vancouver Chinatown History
This site provides a concise history of Chinatown.

CIC Simon Fraser University - Vancouver Chinatown
A historic overview of Vancouver's Chinatown from 1886 to present.

City of Vancouver Archives - Chinatown

Pictures and historic information about Chinatown from the City Archives.

Society Buildings in Chinatown - City of Vancouver
Information about the Chinese Association in Chinatown and their historic role.

MILITARY HISTORY:

Chinese-Canadian Military Museum Society
This site is dedicated to Chinese-Canadian contributions to the Canadian military.

Heroes Remembered : Chinese-Canadian Veterans - Veteran Affairs Canada   
This site provides information about Chinese-Canadian participation during the World Wars.

The Memory Project- Chinese Canadian Veterans of World War II
First hand accounts of war by Chinese-Canadian veterans.

ADDITIONAL RESOURCES:

Chinatown Memorial Monument
Map of the location of this monument.

Location of Monument to Chinese-Canadian Veterans Ineffective - Vancouver Observer
This 2010 article argues that the monument is not in a good location, but is that argument still valid today?

Arthur Shu-Ren Cheng - Vancouver Visions
An examination of the Chinese-Canadian Memorial Monument by sculptor Arthur Shu-Ren Cheng.

Apology for Historic Discrimination - City of Vancouver
Mayor Gregor Robertson and Vancouver City Council apologize for the historic discrimination against the Chinese in Vancouver.

UBC Open Collections - Link to Chinese Canadian stories.

Chinatown Seeks UNESCO World Heritage Status

Honouring the Chinese Community in Victoria

Vancouver Chinese School Podcast

Heart of the City: A Walking Tour of Vancouver's Chinatown Podcast