LibGuides: Crofton House Senior School Library Homepage: Subscription Databases

Research Databases

BrainPop This link opens in a new window
A wonderful, interactive tool with lesson plans, videos, and educational content by subject.
BRITANNICA This link opens in a new window
A thorough encyclopedia that incorporates various subject areas. A great starting point for any level of research. Articles can be accessed at different reading levels and citations are made readily available.
BRITANNICA IMAGEQUEST This link opens in a new window
Reuseable images with citations provided
EBSCOHost Research Databases This link opens in a new window
A great place for general research on the following subjects: news, art, computer science, earth/environment, education, health, history, law, life science, law, literature, philosophy/religion, sociology, psychology
GALE Databases This link opens in a new window
General research database covering the following topics: Canada in context, virtual encyclopedias, global issues, science, National Geographic Kids.
PROQUEST DATABASES - Middle Grades This link opens in a new window
Access to Culturegrams and SIRS Discoverer, two databases best used to support middle grades research
PROQUEST RESEARCH LIBRARY This link opens in a new window
Research Library provides an international mix of scholarly, professional, and consumer periodicals that cover over 150 subjects, including business, the sciences, medical, technology, literature, the arts, and history.
ISSUES & CONTROVERSIES This link opens in a new window
This database provides the pros and cons of various topics.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
An advanced database for Arts & Science.
SCIENCE ONLINE This link opens in a new window
WORLD BOOK This link opens in a new window
Extremely visual database for use in arts, music, dance. cinema, science. Lesson plans, teaching using dramatic learning, timelines, and Spanish and French Encyclopedias are included.

BC Points to the Past
Free historical research databases for residents of BC

Streaming Video Databases

ACF Video Streaming Service (auto login from campus)
A large selection of feature films and documentaries for classroom use.

Criterion On Demand This link opens in a new window
A wonderful and current feature film database with subject specific titles.
Please note: password changes every year. Check password document at the top of this page.

Indigenous Cinema
An extensive online library of over 200 films by Indigenous directors, presented by the NFB.
Knowledge Network
A variety of documentaries and educational videos.
NFB
Resources produced by the National Film Board of Canada. See the password link above to create your CAMPUS account.

Sora E-Books and Audiobooks

How to get started with ebooks and audiobooks on Sora!

1. Install the app or go to http://soraapp.com. (available for Desktop, Tablets, and Mobile)

2. Search for your school or use your school’s setup code. (Crofton House School)

3. Sign in with your student or staff login information. (School Google Account.)

4. Enjoy amazing e-books and audiobooks!

5. Watch the Sora Overview video for more information on features, or Sora website or resources for additional help.

Digital News Subscriptions

Access thousands of newspapers and magazines through our subscription to PressReader.

Using the Library or Group Sign In, Search for Crofton House School. Use Single Sign-On to log in (on up to five devices).

We are also a PressReader hotspot, so no need to log in if you want to just browse.

Newspaper Titles include: The Vancouver Sun, The Province, The Guardian, Times Colonist, The Independent, and more

Magazine Titles include: Maclean's, Foreign Affairs, The Walrus, Smithsonian, Women's Wear Daily (WWD), Canadian Geographic, Wallpaper, and more

Digital editions require login information to access.

The login information is available HERE

The Globe and Mail
This direct link is for Crofton users only. Please do not share.
The New York Times
Register for a digital pass using your school email account to access: nytimes.com/passes

Newspaper Podcasts

The Economist

The New Yorker

National Geographic

Crofton House Senior School Library Homepage: Subscription Databases

Database Instructions

Research Databases

Streaming Video Databases

Sora E-Books and Audiobooks

Digital News Subscriptions

Newspaper Podcasts

MORE DATABASES - BC Digital Classroom from Focused Education (password required to access at home)