Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Film That Changed My Life by The movie that inspired filmmakers to direct is like the atomic bomb that went off before their eyes. The Film That Changed My Life captures that epiphany. It explores 30 directors' love of a film they saw at a particularly formative moment, how it influenced their own works, and how it made them think differently. Rebel Without a Cause inspired John Woo to comb his hair and talk like James Dean. For Richard Linklater, "something was simmering in me, but Raging Bull brought it to a boil." Apocalypse Now inspired Danny Boyle to make larger-than-life films. A single line from The Wizard of Oz --"Who could ever have thought a good little girl like you could destroy all my beautiful wickedness?"--had a direct impact on John Waters. "That line inspired my life," Waters says. "I sometimes say it to myself before I go to sleep, like a prayer." In this volume, directors as diverse as John Woo, Peter Bogdanovich, Michel Gondry, and Kevin Smith examine classic movies that inspired them to tell stories. Here are 30 inspired and inspiring discussions of classic films that shaped the careers of today's directors and, in turn, cinema history.
Publication Date: 2011-01-01
A Funny Thing Happened on the Way to the Future by
Publication Date: 2010-04-13
The inspiring life story of Michael J. Fox, high-school dropout and Hollywood legend. Filled with personal details and Michael J. Fox's trademark optimism, warmth and humour, this inspiring book of life lessons is sure to appeal to Michael J. Fox's many fans as well as any reader in search of an entertaining and uplifting glimpse into an unconventional and successful Hollywood career.
The Little White Lies Guide to Making Your Own Movie by
Publication Date: 2017-09-19
Whether you're posting a clip on Facebook, making a presentation video, introducing yourself to others online, or just sending out a greeting to friends, today everyone is filmmaker. This book cuts away the jargon to offer a highly accessible, no-fuss guide to getting the best results from the kit you already own. In just 39 steps, it offers essential instructions and tips to help amateur movie-makers--filming anything from family celebrations to no-budget horror movies--make their creations look and feel more cinematic. Drawing on its vast network of professional filmmakers as well as on its unique style (with a compelling illustration language and direct, quotation-rich approach), Little White Lies presents the definitive, fun, and straightforward handbook for making films.
The Movie Book by The Movie Book, the latest in DK's award-winning Big Ideas Simply Explained series, profiles 100 of the best movies ever made throughout the world. From classic 1930s film noir and Hollywood romance to international art-house and 21st-century sci-fi, The Movie Book brings the world's most influential films to life with its illustrative design. Unforgettable quotes, film stills, and original posters and memorabilia transport you to the world of each film, while narrative timelines and infographics explore central themes, characters, actors, and directors. Relive classics of the silent era, such as Nosferatu, along with wartime greats like Casablanca, transformative New Wave films such as Lawrence of Arabia and Easy Rider, and modern masterpieces like Do the Right Thing, City of God, and Gravity. Each movie is placed in the broader context of the industry and its key players, making it an invaluable resource for any film fanatic. The Movie Book zooms in on the best cinematic masterpieces of all time and is a must-have for anyone with a passion for films and the history of cinema. Big Ideas Simply Explained series uses creative design and innovative graphics, along with straightforward and engaging writing, to make complex subjects easier to understand. These award-winning books provide just the information needed for students, families, or anyone interested in concise, thought-provoking refreshers on a single subject.
Publication Date: 2016-01-05
On Story--Screenwriters and Filmmakers on Their Iconic Films by "On Story is film school in a box, a lifetime's worth of filmmaking knowledge squeezed into half-hour packages." --Kenneth Turan, film critic for the Los Angeles Times Austin Film Festival (AFF) is the first organization focused on the writer's creative contribution to film. Its annual Film Festival and Conference offers screenings, panels, workshops, and roundtable discussions that help new writers and filmmakers connect with mentors and gain advice and insight from masters, as well as refreshing veterans with new ideas. To extend the festival's reach, AFF produces On Story, a television series currently airing on PBS-affiliated stations and streaming online that presents footage of high-caliber artists talking candidly and provocatively about the art and craft of screenwriting and filmmaking, often using examples from their own films. On Story--Screenwriters and Filmmakers on Their Iconic Films presents renowned, award-winning screenwriters and filmmakers discussing their careers and the stories behind the production of their iconic films such as L.A. Confidential, Thelma Louise, Groundhog Day, Guardians of the Galaxy, The Silence of the Lambs, In the Name of the Father, Apollo 13, and more. In their own lively words transcribed from interviews and panel discussions, Ron Howard, Callie Khouri, Jonathan Demme, Ted Tally, Jenny Lumet, Harold Ramis, and others talk about creating stories that resonate with one's life experiences or topical social issues, as well as how to create appealing characters and bring them to life. Their insights, production tales, and fresh, practical, and proven advice make this book ideal for film lovers, screenwriting students, and filmmakers and screenwriters seeking inspiration.
Publication Date: 2016-10-04
The Phantom Menace by The Ultimate Behind-the-Scenes Tour de Force In 1977, George Lucas brought Star Wars to the big screen--and made cinema history. Now, more than twenty years later, the visionary writer-director, his brilliant crew of special-effects wizards, and an exciting cast of talented stars have united to make the long-awaited and eagerly anticipated Episode I of the Star Wars epic. Star Wars: The Making of Episode I is your exclusive entrée backstage where the wonders of the newest chapter in the Star Wars saga are brought to life, including - A series of exclusive interviews with George Lucas as he discusses the genesis of the Star Wars story, from themes to scenes to dialogue - The development of such classic characters as young Jedi student Obi-Wan Kenobi and R2-D2--plus intriguing newcomers Anakin Skywalker, Qui-Gon Jinn, Queen Amidala, and Jar Jar Binks - The creation of new state-of-the-art creatures and special effects by the legendary Industrial Light & Magic team - Pre-production: from storyboarding, set-building, and model-making to costume design and the casting of pivotal roles - Post-production: Including editing, scoring, and combining computer generated effects with live-action footage - Shooting in England, Italy, and Tunisia, with stars Liam Neeson, Ewan McGregor, and Natalie Portman - Hundreds of drawings and photographs Witness all the movie-making magic behind the sensational Star Wars saga's newest episode!
Publication Date: 1999-05-10
Schirmer Encyclopedia of Film by
Publication Date: 2006-12-15
This reference provides a comprehensive and accessible introduction to film and film studies, covering such aspects as production, national traditions, studios, genres, critical theory and film history. Approximately 200 entries cover specific topics, including acting, censorship, editing, lighting and others. Also included are more than 230 career profiles, placing individual achievements in the context of specific topics (for example, Robert Altman is featured in the article on "Sound"). Additional features include a comprehensive index; a list of further reading sources; 350 black-and-white and 150 full color photographs; and more.
Twilight Director's Notebook by A personal, behind-the-scenes look at the making of the blockbuster film Twilight from groundbreaking director Catherine Hardwicke! This intimate full-color "notebook", designed to replicate the one director Catherine Hardwicke kept on and off the set, takes you through the creative process that went into making Stephenie Meyer's breathtaking novel come alive on screen - from casting to costumes, stunts to story boards. With never-before-seen notes, sketches, and photographs taken directly from the visionary director's personal notebook, this book includes everything from her visual inspirations, to step-by-step breakdowns of action sequences, to a behind the scenes look at some of the most pivotal moments in the creation of the film, and much more. Get the inside story - this collectible notebook will be a must-have addition to every Twilight fan's bookshelf!
Publication Date: 2009-03-17
Women and American Television by
Publication Date: 2000-01-01
This work presents more than 400 A-Z entries on the individuals, programs, media innovations, and broad topics that tell the story of women's involvement both in front of and behind the television camera. * A-Z entries range from Gracie Allen and Ally McBeal to talk shows and soap operas * Includes cross references, a bibliography, helpful appendixes, and a subject index * Delightfully illustrated
Criterion On Demand
A wonderful and current feature film database with subject specific titles.
Try searching film, filmmaking, media, film technology. Lots of learning resource videos.
Try dramatic learning section - full of plays, monologues, lesson plans.
Websites and Online Tools
Action Movie FX App
It should come as no surprise that this app is from the production studio of JJ Abrams, director of The Force Awakens, Star Trek and Super 8. It's basically a ridiculously easy way to shoot video with some added special effects. The free app comes with a few effects in it, but there are more available with an in-app purchase.
GarageBand turns your iPad, iPhone, and iPod touch into a collection of Touch Instruments and a full-featured recording studio — so you can make music anywhere you go.
Hyperlapse from Instagram App
Hyperlapse uses impressive stabilisation technology to enable you to shoot high quality time-lapse videos without a tripod
Wonderful film editing app.
Intro Maker Effects Video Edit App
Add as many titles as you and perfectly edit the size, stroke, and shadow of your title so that your movie stands out. Moreover, you can also use the awesome soundtracks and even create your own voice-overs.