Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Artificial Intelligence by In 2011 a computer named Watson outscored two human competitors on the TV quiz show Jeopardy! and snagged the million-dollar prize. Watson isn't the only machine keeping up with humans. The field of artificial intelligence (AI) is booming, with drones, robots, and computers handling tasks that once only humans could perform. Such advances raise challenging questions. Do Watson and other computers really think? Can machines acquire self-awareness? Is AI a promising or a dangerous technology? No machine, not even Watson, yet comes close to matching human intelligence, but many scientists believe it is only a matter of time before we reach this milestone. What will such a future look like?
Publication Date: 2017-08-01
Computers and Creativity by Computers and Creativity explores the many ways people use computers to create software, invent new machines, and express themselves through words, music, graphic art, and multimedia. This brand-new, full-color resource also explains how computers enable people to collaborate over space and time on a scale never before possible without the use of professional intermediaries. Additionally, it examines the ways in which computer-enabled creativity causes us to rethink copyright and patent law, providing legal protection for the creative works of both artists and inventors. Chapters include: Writing: Farewell to Pen and Paper Music: Personal Computer as Piano Video: Recording, Editing, and Creating Special Effects Programming: How Software Is Created Inventing: Using Computers to Drive Innovation Collaboration: Bringing People Together Over the Internet Disintermediation: Cutting Out the Middleman Intellectual Property: Protecting Creativity in the Digital World.
Publication Date: 2011-10-01
Concept-Based Curriculum and Instruction for the Thinking Classroom by
Publication Date: 2017-03-01
Develop students' critical thinking, abstract reasoning, and creative learning skills with concept-based teaching!Take learning beyond the facts with a teaching approach that develops conceptual thinking and problem-solving skills. A Concept-Based curriculum recaptures students' innate curiosity about the world and provides the thrilling feeling of using one's mind well. Concept-Based teachers will learn how to: Meet the demands of rigorous academic standards Use the Structure of Knowledge and Process when designing disciplinary units Engage students in inquiry through inductive teaching Identify conceptual lenses and craft quality generalizations
Design by Design: A-Z is a dynamic and comprehensive guide for professionals and general readers. Global in scope, this book includes architecture, industrial design, furniture, fashion, cars, clothing, graphics, consumer products, signs and much more -- all lavishly illustrated by 300 full-color photographs. There are also profiles of innovators and visionaries, both past and present, whose achievements have forever changed the way we live and the way we view ourselves and the world. A series of unique essays outlines the role of design in modern cultural history and includes Terence Conran's memorable definition of the art of design. The heart of the book is its 100-page A to Z directory of the most influential people, products and processes of past and present centuries, which includes biographies of leading designers. The authors also share their personal views in each entry and give Michelin-style ratings of today's up-and-coming designers. Among the topics examined are: The consumer age and mass consumption The craft ideal of old values The Modern movement and the romance of the machine The America of the 1930s Italy since the 1950s Symbolism, the language of objects and consumer psychology Corporate histories and product appraisals The newest types and categories of design Postmodern design and looking to the future Up-to-date, provocative and completely original, Design A-Z is the ultimate sourcebook for professional designers, an essential guide for students of design and a revelation for general readers hungry for information about design and designers.
Publication Date: 2010-08-19
Designing, Building, and Maintaining Web Sites by
Publication Date: 2010-08-15
Nearly every organization, business, and school has its own Web site. Many individuals have their own site as well. Readers who are interested in making their own Web site will find that the process of doing so draws on a number of different skills, and can be a valuable learning experience. This book introduces readers to the fundamentals of planning, designing, building, and publishing their own Web site. It simplifies complex concepts and encourages web site creation and experimentation.
Digital Art by
Publication Date: 2013-08-01
Aspiring digital artists are brought into the studios of professionals to learn the tricks of the trade. Step-by-step instructions are provided for a variety of digital art for both beginner and experienced artists alike!
Getting to Know the Raspberry Pi by
Publication Date: 2014-07-15
A $35 minicomputer about the size of a credit card, the Raspberry Pi has taken the world of computing by storm. Originally intended for teaching programming in schools, the device's low price, small size, and low power consumption have given it wide appea
Girl Code by A New York Public Library Best Book of 2017 Perfect for aspiring coders everywhere, Girl Code is the story of two teenage tech phenoms who met at Girls Who Code summer camp, teamed up to create a viral video game, and ended up becoming world famous. The book also includes bonus content to help you start coding! Fans of funny and inspiring books like Maya Van Wagenen's Popular and Caroline Paul's Gutsy Girl will love hearing about Andrea "Andy" Gonzales and Sophie Houser's journey from average teens to powerhouses. Through the success of their video game, Andy and Sophie got unprecedented access to some of the biggest start-ups and tech companies, and now they're sharing what they've seen. Their video game and their commitment to inspiring young women have been covered by the Huffington Post, Buzzfeed, CNN, Teen Vogue, Jezebel, the Today show, and many more. Get ready for an inside look at the tech industry, the true power of coding, and some of the amazing women who are shaping the world. Andy and Sophie reveal not only what they've learned about opportunities in science and technology but also the true value of discovering your own voice and creativity. A Junior Library Guild selection A Children's Book Council Best STEM Trade Book for Students K-12
Publication Date: 2018-03-06
Microsoft by This title examines the remarkable lives of Bill Gates and Paul Allen and their work building the groundbreaking computer company Microsoft. Readers will learn about each founder's background and education, as well as his early career. Also covered is a look at how Microsoft operates, issues the company faces, its successes, and its impact on society. Color photos and informative sidebars accompany easy-to-read, compelling text. Features include a timeline, facts, additional resources, Web sites, a glossary, a bibliography, and an index. Technology Pioneers is a series in Essential Library, an imprint of ABDO Publishing Company.
Publication Date: 2012-08-01
Online Safety by
Publication Date: 2011-08-01
Explains the types of security risks that young women can encounter online, and also provides suggestions of ways they can protect themselves and use the Internet safely.
The Road Ahead by "A masterful job...Inspires all kinds of empowering ways to use technology."-Chicago Tribune. Now updated with new material, the software pioneer describes how emerging technologies will transform human existence in unprecedented ways.
Publication Date: 1996-11-01
Txtng by This book takes a long hard look at the text-messaging phenomenon and its effects on literacy, language, and society. Young people who seem to spend much of their time texting sometimes appear unable or unwilling to write much else. Media outrage has ensued. "It is bleak, bald, sad shorthand,"writes a commentator in the UK Guardian. "It masks dyslexia, poor spelling, and mental laziness." Exam answers using textese and reports that examiners find them acceptable have led to headlines in the tabloids and leaders in the qualities. Do young people text as much as people think? Do adults? Does texting spell the end of literacy? Is there a panic in the media? David Crystal looks at the evidence. He investigates how texting began and who uses it, why and what for. He shows how to interpret its mix of pictograms, logograms,abbreviations, symbols, and wordplay, and how it works in different languages. He explores the ways similar devices have been used in different eras and discovers that the texting system of conveying sounds and meaning goes back a long way, all the way in fact to the origins of writing - and heconcludes that far from hindering literacy, texting may turn out to help it.
Publication Date: 2009-10-18
E-books for Android, Raspberry Pi, SQL, Powershell and more. (Use Crofton ID to access.)
Criterion On Demand This link opens in a new window
Has some documentaries and science fiction films which may be great for discussion with classes.
EBSCOHost Research Databases This link opens in a new window
Ebsco has some high end computer science databases such as: Canadian Reference Centre, Primary Search, etc.
Learn 360 This link opens in a new window
Has some video tutorials on coding, web design, CSS, etc. Great for how-tos and history videos.
Online Tools and Websites
Baobab VR App
One of the early demos for VR, especially Cardboard and Daydream, was the animated tale of a cute bunny meeting aliens for the first time. The short was directed by Eric Darnell, the director of the Madagascar films, and he and his studio Baobab have been cranking out new shorts for a while now. You can experience them all in Baobab's app.
C3D is a web site for building your own VR world while learning how to code. With one click, you can take it to VR headset to explore your creation.
A great designer tool for presentations, flyers, social media, etc.
Encode: Learn to Code App
Google Arts and Culture
Google has produced some solid VR and 360-degree content, and this is another we think is worth checking out. You can explore artwork, artifacts and more from over 850 museums, archives, and organizations worldwide that have partnered with Google Cultural Institute to bring their collections and stories online. There are even options to zoom in for a closer look and factual tidbits if you want to learn more.
Google Cardboard App
The official Google Cardboard app is a must have. You can use the app to set up your Cardboard experience. It also has some decent VR experiences all on its own. You can use Google Earth to fly around or take a trip to Versailles in virtual reality. Additionally, the app lets you view you videos, photospheres, and other VR content stored on your device. More importantly, it has a directory of VR apps and games that makes finding new stuff a lot easier.
Google Expeditions App
Google Expeditions is a virtual-reality teaching tool that allows you lead or join immersive virtual trips all over the world – get up close to historical landmarks, dive underwater with sharks and even visit outer space!
Google Street View App
Google Street View is an old friend of Google Maps and it was updated not long ago to support VR content. It works essentially as it always has, which has provided people with 360-degree views of various roads, addresses, landmarks, and other places. With the VR update, you can also use your Google Cardboard to look at all of that stuff.
Teaches basic coding through gaming exercises.
The first step to building an awesome product.
Star Wars VR App
If you love Star Wars, and especially The Force Awakens, the Cardboard experience from a galaxy far, far away is for you. It puts you in the role of a Resistance secret agent on Jakku, the desert world featured in the 2015 film. You can feel the VR force on your iPhone or Android phone.
Things Come Apart
High quality images of dissembled objects. See what's inside the things you use everyday!
Interactive typing tests and games.
Just because you don't have a fancy, expensive headset, doesn't mean you can't hang out in virtual social networks. vTime is totally cross platform so you can interact with friends using different hardware (including phones via the Magic Window feature).
You can share regular and 360-degree images or just customize your avatar and start chatting in one of 20 VR environments, including armchairs in outer space.