Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
100 Dresses by
Publication Date: 2010-11-01
An irresistible look into more than 300 years of fashion through an exquisite collection of designer dresses What woman can resist imagining herself in a beautiful designer dress? Here, for the first time ever, are 100 fabulous gowns from the permanent collection of the renowned Costume Institute at The Metropolitan Museum of Art, each of which is a reminder of the ways fashion reflects the broader culture that created it. Featuring designs by Paul Poiret, Coco Chanel, Madame Grès, Yves Saint Laurent, Gianni Versace, Vivienne Westwood, Alexander McQueen, and many others, this one-of-a-kind collection presents a stunning variety of garments. Ranging from the buttoned-up gowns of the late 17th century to the cutting-edge designs of the early 21st, the dresses reflect the sensibilities and excesses of each era while providing a vivid picture of how styles have changed--sometimes radically--over the years. A late 1600s wool dress with a surprising splash of silver thread; a large-bustled red satin dress from the 1800s; a short, shimmery 1920s dancing dress; a glamorous 1950s cocktail dress; and a 1960s minidress--each tells a story about its period and serves as a testament to the enduring ingenuity of the fashion designer's art. Images of the dresses are accompanied by informative text and enhanced by close-up details as well as runway photos, fashion plates, works of art, and portraits of designers. A glossary of related terms is also included.
100 Shoes by A hundred pairs of shoes, from the 16th to the 21st century, paint a vivid picture of how shoe styles have changed--sometimes radically--over the years. They also reveal how some trends have reappeared throughout the ages. For instance, platform shoes were worn by fashionable Venetian women from the 15th to the 17th century and by Manchu Chinese women in the 1800s. In the late 1930s, Salvatore Ferragamo introduced a modern version of the platform shoe, and updated versions appeared in the 1970s and 1990s. Beautifully designed and produced, this brilliant follow-up to the Costume Institute of the Metropolitan Museum of Art's 100 Dresses presents examples of fashionable footwear in a range of styles, from flats to stilettos and everything in between. Among them are shoes designed by Manolo Blahnik, Christian Louboutin, Roger Vivier, and Vivienne Westwood. Images of the shoes are accompanied by informative text and enhanced by works of art, contemporary photos, and portraits of designers. Sure to spark the imaginations of anyone interested in fashion and design, 100 Shoes details how women have used these essential fashion accessories to elevate their style, stature, and status throughout the centuries. An introduction by fashion-forward actress Sarah Jessica Parker adds to the accessibility and appeal of this delightful volume.
Publication Date: 2011-10-18
The Complete History of Costume and Fashion by
Publication Date: 2001-02-01
From the first fashion style of the Egyptians to the emergence of "haute couture in the 20th century
Draping for Fashion Design by
Publication Date: 2011-03-21
Draping for Fashion Design, Fifth Edition, is the definitive basic instructional text for draping in numerous fashion design programs since its original publication. This book covers all of the fundamental material for beginning and advanced study in an intensive fashion design program and prepares students for the industry. Based on current industry methods, it reflects the dramatic changes of computer integration into the basic design and pattern development process and demonstrates simplified methods wherever they are employed in the industry. Updated throughout, the fifth edition offers a new chapter on children's wear, new illustrations, and revised diagrams that enhance clarity.
Encyclopedia of Hair by Examines the ways in which hair has served as a signifier of class, gender, ethnicity, conformity/non-comfority, authority, and power throughout history. Countless issues and examples are explored in this volume including: hair styles of royalty; wigs worn by lawmakers and judges; ceremonial hairstyles of tribes throughout the world; Oliver Cromwell's Roundheads; hair in the counterculture (including the musical Hair); skinheads, Mohawks and punk style; the hairstyles of First Ladies; celebrity hairstyles; women shaving their heads to subvert gender and sexuality stereotyping; the entire hair-care industry; the search for a cure to baldness; and diseases and disorders related to hair. Broad topics in this book include hair arrangement/styling; care and cleansing; business and commercial aspects; laws and legal matters; trends and trendsetters; and health and science. An introductory essay explores the universal human interest in hair and hair-styling throughout history and around the world. It is followed by alphabetically arranged entries, each including sources for further reading. This work is highly relevant to the study of class, gender, popular culture, and politics. A lavish set of color and halftone illustrations completes this fun and useful title.
Publication Date: 2006-02-28
Ethnic Dress by
Publication Date: 1995-10-01
Costume authority Frances Kennett explains how and why certain garments came into being, the construction of the garments, and provides information on the wide variety of materials used in their creation.
How to Knit by
Publication Date: 1999-05-01
Leading knitwear designer Debbie Bliss returns with a complete course in knitting, taking you lesson by lesson through all the techniques and stitches. The book features 15 specially designed projects to practice new skills, and extensive stitch library, and 350 color photos and illustrations, plus charts.
Publication Date: 2002-10-24
This volume provides the guidance you need to sew successfully, whatever your level of skill. Comprehensive step-by-step instructions cover everything from cutting out patterns to making sleeves and fitting zips, and are accompanied by thousands of colourful illustrations, diagrams and photographs. This encyclopaedia of sewing includes detailed directions, practical advice, time-saving tips, essential techniques and hundreds of creative touches to bring out the best in your needlework. There are 20 projects to help you put into practice what you have learned, with ideas for creating clothes and home accessories in classic styles which can be easily adapted to changing trends.
What People Wore by "The book is an invaluable guide to all things fashion." -- Collectors' Corner Spanning nearly 5,000 years of clothing styles, this splendid sourcebook presents a fascinating panorama of wearing apparel, beginning with the ancient Egyptians and continuing through the early decades of the twentieth century. Over 1,800 drawings -- meticulously researched and accurately rendered by the author -- depict garments ranging from diaphanous gowns of Egyptian royalty, ornate robes of Byzantine dignitaries, and elegant dresses worn by eighteenth-century Parisians, to picturesque outfits of American frontiersmen and the revolutionary 1930s wardrobe of the American flapper. Here also are informal portraits of Byzantine commoners and religious figures, Elizabethans in lace collars and ruffs, upper-class Venetians, English dandies, and French gentlemen of the mid-eighteenth century as well as detailed illustrations of nineteenth-century New York farmers, western fur trappers, cowboys, mountain men, and lumberjacks, Klondike prospectors, Mississippi rivermen, and many more. A brief historical survey precedes the chronologically grouped illustrations of each period, and an overall list supplies the source for each drawing. A comprehensive reference for artists, designers, and social historians, this invaluable treasury will also intrigue anyone interested in the evolution of wearing apparel.
Publication Date: 1994-08-22
Yves Saint Laurent by
Publication Date: 2016-10-11
An intimate look at the famed designer and his work, revealing his artistic process and influence. Modernizing haute couture. Pioneering high-end ready-to-wear. Bringing masculine ease to women's clothing. Legendary fashion designer Yves Saint Laurent's reputation precedes him--but what of the man behind the work? Fashion historian and YSL expert Florence Müller traces Saint Laurent's career, from aspiring designer to Christian Dior's protégé to director of his own fashion house from 1961 until 2002. The book emphasizes the designer's creative process--his inspirations, the conception and fabric selection, the various stages of fitting and production--and takes the reader behind the scenes of the atelier. Also featured are original sketches, runway shots, and never-before-published photographs of Saint Laurent at work, as well as new photography of iconic YSL designs from the exhibition, including the first Tuxedo pantsuit (1966), the Safari tunic (1968), the Mondrian dress (1965), and the Wesselmann dress (1966). The book also includes a 1991 interview from Le Figaro with the late designer. This focused exploration shows how Saint Laurent's radical clothes for the modern woman--presented here in gorgeous detail--continue to inspire fashion lovers and fans of art and design for their innovation and perfection of style.
Criterion On Demand This link opens in a new window
Find feature films and documentaries featuring fashion or the fashion industry. ie. Coco Before Chanel, Zoolander, Crazy Rich Asians, Love Marilyn, etc.
Learn 360 This link opens in a new window
Try searches for fashion, sewing, knitting, costumes, etc. to find educational or how to videos.
World Book This link opens in a new window
Search fashion or designers for encyclopedia articles.
Websites and Online Tools
All About Shoes
Digital versions of past exhibits from Toronto’s Bata Shoe Museum. Includes teacher’s resources.
Augusta Auction House
An auction house specializing in textiles and fashion. You can browse images of their upcoming and past sales.
Cooper-Hewitt, Smithsonian Design Museum Collection Database
Though still under development, this site includes images and information representing about 75% of the Cooper-Hewitt’s collection of textiles, product design, decorative arts, and graphic design.
The Costume Institute at the Metropolitan Museum of Art
Search over 30,000 images from the collections of the Costume Institute and the Brooklyn Museum Costume Collection . You can direct your search by designer, material, geographic location, or era.
Fashion Design Flat Sketch App
If you're designing women's clothing, you will find Fashion Design FlatSketch to be very effective. The app is simple, allowing you to create basic fashion sketches in minutes.
Comprehensive background information on fashion, browsable by culture and era.
Bloomberg reported last month that Instagram killed the retail store. It may sound dramatic but this low-budget, social-media approach has produced many success stories, and in contrast, high-street brands are loosing sales and closing down.
The New York Public Library's Dress and Fashion: Design and Manufacture Collection
This digital collection contains "several rare and unusual published resources of interest to students of western dress and fashion from the 19th to the early 20th-century. Includes historical surveys as well as manufacturers' booklets and sample swatch catalogs."
Pantone’s innovative system of matching, communicating and identifying colors has made it easier for designers to work together with manufacturers. But, as with everything digital, there are more efficient ways to find that colour you need without it being super time consuming.
Pinterest works like a digital MOOD-BOARD. At the beginning of every season, the inspirations are collected and transformed into multi-billion fashion products.
Do you want to turn your iPad into a sketchbook? The Pro.pose app is a fantastic way to do just that and it's a lot of fun.