Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Most databases on this page will open automatically while at Crofton House School.
In order to use databases at home, please use the following link for password information.
You will be required to login to your Crofton House account to access the Library Databases and Subscriptions link.
Ask your librarian for assistance with databases if needed.
CANADIAN LITERARY CENTRE This link opens in a new window
A database focused on Canadian literature and includes biographies, essays, literary criticism.
EBSCOHost Research Databases This link opens in a new window
Select all databases and search by your chosen author or work.
ie. "Margaret Atwood literary criticism"
"Handmaid's Tale literary criticism"
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
As with Ebsco, search by your chosen author or work to find what the database has to offer. You may wish to narrow by subject area, or limit the dates on the left side to only find more current articles.
Literary Criticism Websites
Literary Criticism Videos
Citation Style Guides
Online Style Guides & Recommended Books
APA Style Guide from Purdue OWL
MLA Style Guide from Purdue OWL
A Concise Guide to MLA Style and Documentation by A CONCISE GUIDE TO MLA STYLE AND DOCUMENTATION is an affordable and classroom-tested resource that provides only the information students need most often and -- according to the author's own students -- is easier to use than the actual MLA Handbook. This edition incorporates several major changes from the new MLA Handbook, Seventh Edition. It also has a two-color design, a numbering system, and an index to help students find information quickly and easily. Here students will discover useful advice on gathering sources, compiling notes, summarizing, paraphrasing, quoting properly, and avoiding plagiarism.
Publication Date: 2009-07-14
A Guide to MLA Documentation by
Publication Date: 2012-01-01
Briefer, more affordable, and easier to use than the MLA's own handbook, this popular booklet features current MLA guidelines, a new section on evaluating online sources, and an up-to-date APA appendix. The guide also provides numerous examples, a sample research paper, and helpful hints on such topics as avoiding plagiarism and taking notes.
Student login »
Teacher login »
Note: Enter your Google email on the login screen (under "Access via G Suite").
Then you can either:
a) create a new account with your Google email and password
b) enter your old Noodletools name & password and it will sync to your Google email
Not sure how to use Noodletools? Click here!