Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Most databases on this page will open automatically while at Crofton House School.
In order to use databases at home, please use the following link for password information.
You will be required to login to your Crofton House account to access the Library Databases and Subscriptions link.
Ask your librarian for assistance with databases if needed.
A wonderful, interactive tool with lesson plans, videos, and educational content by subject.
A thorough encyclopedia that incorporates various subject areas. A great starting point for any level of research. Articles can be accessed at different reading levels and citations are made readily available.
EBSCOHost Research Databases
A great place for general research on the following subjects: news, art, computer science, earth/environment, education, health, history, law, life science, law, literature, philosophy/religion, sociology, psychology
General research database covering the following topics: Canada in context, virtual encyclopedias, global issues, science, National Geographic Kids.
ISSUES & CONTROVERSIES
This database provides the pros and cons of various topics.
An advanced database for Arts & Science.
An excellent database for historical and cultural explorations. (Culturegrams, History Study Center)
ProQuest Research Companion is a tool specifically designed to guide students through the research process.
Extremely visual database for use in arts, music, dance. cinema, science. Lesson plans, teaching using dramatic learning, timelines, and Spanish and French Encyclopedias are included.
Streaming Video Databases
Criterion On Demand
A wonderful and current feature film database with subject specific titles.
An extensive online library of over 200 films by Indigenous directors, presented by the NFB.
A variety of documentaries and educational videos.
Resources produced by the National Film Board of Canada. See the password link above to create your CAMPUS account.
Sora E-Books and Audiobooks
How to get started with listening on Sora!
1. Install the app or go to http://soraapp.com. (available for Desktop, Tablets, and Mobile)
2. Search for your school or use your school’s setup code. (Crofton House School)
3. Sign in with your student or staff login information. (School Google Account.)
4. Enjoy amazing e-books and audiobooks!
5. Watch the Sora Overview video for more information on features, or visit the Senior Library page on Canvas or Sora website or resources for additional help.
Digital News Subscriptions
Digital editions require login information to access. The login information is available via your Crofton House portal.