It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Discovering Vancouver History: Home
Vancouver Voters, 1886
Call Number: 971.1 CLA
Street Names of Vancouver by Elizabeth Walker; Vancouver Historical Society Staff
Publication Date: 1999-01-01
Vancouver, stories of a city : a history of Vancouver's neighbourhoods and the people who built them
Call Number: 971.133 SME
Postcards from the Past: Edwardian Images of Greater Vancouver and the Fraser Valley
Vancouver's first century : a city album 1860-1960
Call Number: 971.13 VAN
Vancouver the Way It Was by Michael Kluckner
Publication Date: 1994-01-01
Vancouver and Its Region by Graeme Wynn; Timothy Oke (Editor)
Publication Date: 1992-01-01
Vancouver and Its Region is a broad-ranging account of one ofthe world's most spectacular and liveable metropolitan areas. Itpresents a finely drawn historical geography of the city and itssurroundings, an incisive commentary on the contemporary city, and avaluable report on the impacts of urban growth on the biophysicalenvironment. A unique collaborative enterprise involving nineteenmembers of the UBC geography department, whose expertise ranges fromphysical science through social science to the humanities and landscapephotography, the book traces the physical, social, economic,historical, and environmental development of a relatively small buthighly important area of British Columbia and Canada.
Vancouver Public Library's collection of digitized British Columbia city directories dating from 1860 to 1955. Directories contain detailed historical information about British Columbian communities, including street and name listings of individuals and businesses in Vancouver and Victoria, as well as population figures, government listings, operating newspapers, schools and libraries from communities across the province.
Finding tool for documents and facts related to the history of British Columbia. Vancouver Public Library created the index to supplement information found in standard reference sources and major news databases. The library catalogue can be used to locate books and other major published works about BC In this index you will find references to chapters or excerpts in books, articles in unindexed news sources such as local magazines, newsletters and newspapers, and uncatalogued material and pamphlets.
A crowdsourcing platform where one can transcribe, tag, translate and describe digitized records from our collection. This may be a good project for students who want to work with primary documents in French and in English, and/or tag images.
Experience Vancouver's history, culture and communities in a whole new way. Listen to stories told by locals and see photos of Vancouver’s past as you travel the city and learn about the people and places that have made us what we are today.
If conducting family history research, information about census, immigration, land, military, birth, marriage, death and other types of records, including how and where to access them, can be found on our genealogy website under Topics.
Vancouver Public Library's historical photographs database provides access to over 30,000 images of Vancouver and British Columbia from the 1880s to the 1980s. Search by keyword or browse by topic. Prints of photographs from the database can be ordered from the library.
The main research tool at Library and Archives Canada (LAC) is Collection Search. This search engine allows users to search most of the collections available to the public at LAC from one starting point. Collection Search contains various databases from archives, images, library and some genealogy. You can refine your search results easily by using the tabs and the filters.